Cartouche Selection Committee

The award selection is performed by the Cartouche Selection Committee - volunteers who come from backgrounds in woodworking, academic, professional, museum, and previous Cartouche recipients. Most of the judges have been makers of furniture at some point in their career, but not all. All are heavily involved in the making, study, care or appreciation of quality period furniture. 

Judges may serve a maximum of seven years. Their tenure is staggered so one or two leave the committee in any given year.

Current voting committee members are:

Al Breed Al was the 2012 Cartouche Award recipient.
Gregory John Landrey

Gregory is currently the Director of Academic Affairs for Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library. He has worked at Winterthur since 1979 in various positions related to furniture conservation and academic affairs.

Just a small sampling of Gregory's accomplishments include: publication of articles for Antiques and Fine Art and the proceedings of the Winterthur Furniture Forum, 2013; served in the role of Conservator-in-Residence, The Palace Museum, Beijing, China. September–December 2014.

Gary Sullivan Gary has done furniture restoration and now runs an antique business. He has passionately pursued the world of antiques since the age of 10 and now is a nationally recognized authority on early American clocks with over thirty years of experience in the antiques business. As president of his Sharon, Massachusetts-based business, Gary R. Sullivan Antiques Inc., he specializes in American antique furniture from the Queen Anne through Classical periods, with particular emphasis on important American clocks.
David deMuzio David was formerly the Elaine S. Harrington Senior Conservator of Furniture and Woodwork at Philadelphia Museum of Art. David has worked at the PMA as conservator/Senior Conservator for 25 years. Degree in architecture. Graduate of the Smithsonian Program in Conservation. Currently manages a private foundation overseeing multiple properties along with their building and decorative art collections.
Ronnie Young Ronnie was the 2016 Cartouche Award recipient.
Ben Colman

Ben is currently the Curator of American Art at the Detroit Institute of Art.

Colman, a native of Albany, New York, has a bachelor’s degree in art history from Yale University, where he later served as the Marcia Brady Tucker Curatorial Fellow in the Department of American Decorative Arts at the Yale University Art Gallery. During his time at the gallery he worked with curator Patricia Kane on a landmark study of furniture making in colonial Rhode Island that identified hundreds of previously unknown artisans and documented thousands of pieces of historic furniture in public and private collections around the country. This project culminated in an internet database called the Rhode Island Furniture Archive.

Colman earned a master of arts degree through the Winterthur Program in American Material Culture at the University of Delaware. His research there looked at the histories of seventeenth-century relics in Plymouth, Massachusetts, as a means of examining the ways communities use antique objects to record and narrate their past..

At the Florence Griswold Museum, Colman worked with a collection of American art spanning the colonial period to the present day that is best known for its Impressionist paintings. He curated exhibitions of American furniture (“Thistles and Crowns: The Painted Chests of the Connecticut Shore,” 2014), folk art (“Art of the Everyman: American Folk Art from the Fenimore Art Museum,” 2014), modernism (“Harry Holtzman and American Abstraction,” 2013), Impressionist painting (“Lyme Artists Abroad,” 2014), marine painting (“All the Sea Knows: Marine Art from the Museum of the City of New York,” 2015), studio craft (“Kari Russell-Pool: Self-Portraits in Glass,” 2014) and contemporary art (“Animal/Vegetable/Mineral,” 2013; “Peter Halley: Big Paintings,” 2015). He is the author of numerous exhibition catalogues and articles on the history of American art and decorative arts.

Jeff Roberts Jeff was the 2017 Cartouche Award recipient.