To fill or not to fill

daveknuth

When finishing open pore woods (mahogany and walnut) should the pores be filled? Were the original 18th century pieces filled? I used to fill but got lazy and quit doing it but I think it looks better filled.

I am by no means an expert on the matter, so you should take my commentary with a grain of salt.  However, whether one fills in the grain is entirely a personal choice. Personally, I agree with you that the finish, particularly on today's mahogany, indeed looks much better filled than not, especially on higher style pieces.  Did the 18th century cabinet makers fill the grain?  I had a very experienced cabinet maker tell me they didn't.  But I tell you what.....based on examples  I've seen in the usual roster of museums we all visit, something is responsible for that mirror finish that one can only achieve with the grain filled!!  Perhaps  the quality of mahogany available then was so far superior to today's in terms of density and tightness of grain, etc, that there was no need for the extra effort.  Regardless, I intend to continue the practice because the results are worth it.  I spend a boat load of hours on projects and want the finishing process to be over ASAP.  But I've learned the hard way that there are no short cutting the process.

If anyone has favorite method of filling grain, please chime in. I've been using the finish (shellac), building it up, letting it cure for two weeks, leveling, inevitably cutting through which leads to more dye in the cut through patches, more finish, more cure time, more leveling, cutting through again, etc......you get the picture. Obviously this method is laborious, inefficient and wasteful....other than that its great! (And don't suggest I go for a thicker build, Mr. Obvious.  : ) )  I will be using a different method next time around.