Tennons on a wide board

maskws

Didnt take me long to get to my next question on a Queen Anne Dressing table; the ends of the table are a 14 inch wide board (grain running horizontally) which I will put 3 tennons on to attach to the legs. My question is I presume you only glue the bottom 4" tennon and pin the upper two?

martin

Martin,

I will glue and pin the lower tenon but use elongated pin holes on the other two tenons and no glue.

Dennis Bork
Antiquity Period Designs, Ltd.

Martin,

I have glued and pinned about 4 " of the center tenon  and used elongated pinholes on the other two tenons.

Jim Vojcek

Both my method and Jim's will work.  However, I glue the bottom tenon because the knee block is glued to the bottom of the side and it could break loose with wood movement.

When I was an apprentice the boss said, "make the job so it does not come back for repairs."

Dennis Bork

Thanks Dennis.  Always nice to know the reasons why you do something, and I never thought about the knee bit.  Martin

I have questions about the above technique. I assume you dry fit and clamp the legs to the side and then drill through for the pins. Do you then separate the pieces and file to elongate the hole in the tenon?
Do you get separation between the leg and the apron as the wood dries out, in other words do you eventually get a visible seam along the leg-apron join?

Howard Steier

If you're draw boring for the pins, you first drill the hole before dry fitting/clamping. Then you dry fit and mark a spot on the tenon slightly, say 1/8", further from the shoulder, drill out the tenon, then dry fit and clamp and insert pin when you're ready. This will pull the shoulder tight.

Pam

Do you also elongate the hole in the tenon in the North-South direction to allow for wood movement in the apron? When you drill the tenon hole 1/8 closer to the shouilder, does the peg ever split the tenon or mortise when driven in?

Howard Steier

Howard,