Rococo Adam

Adam Cherubini

Don't let Rococo Jo have all the fun.  Rococo carving is fun and it was done in America to great effect.  It was not always "muted" as some who don't personally like the style have claimed.  The fact is, it's harder to do than the "muted" and more stylized stuff that many colonies produced (New York, New England etc).   The best of it is probably found in Philadelphia where only the best shops attempted it.  In it's highest form (their values, not mine) it was highly representative and 3-dimensional.  

But here's the kicker-  It's not actually that hard to do!  Jo talks about the "impossible chair" but that doesn't mean all Rococo is impossible. I'm not good at it.  This is my first attempt.  And I'm not looking for congratulations here.  Just saying- here's a sample:  It's fun.  You can do it.  Give it a try.  

Rococo Adam

Looks pretty darn good to me Adam!  Is this the chair from your series in PWW?  I've been following that.  I took a chair class from a well know maker and teacher a few years ago.  The chair turned out ok, but I didn't really learn how to make a chair.  I've enjoyed following along.

I'd like to try carving a knee sometime.  I favor a bit less than Rococo.  I've got a copy of Mack Headley, Jr.'s article in FWW from many years ago that I may try and follow. 

Tony

Adam, Carve one thats good? But? You cannot do another?? Just show e’m lad,it’s nice to see competion, but remember one thing: Thomas Chippendale never drew a ball & claw foot, to copy. looking forward to seeing more of your work. Well done.

Rococo Joseph  

Sorry? just dosent have that Ring ? rococo jo.