PLEASE HELP with veneering decorative box; 19th cent. French replica

amargulies

I'm somewhat new to woodworking and veneering and would greatly appreciate your help.  I'm making a veneered, decorative wood box - my own design, similar to several 19th cent. French boxes I've seen.  I think I have most of it properly planned, but I'd appreciate help with a few issues.

My box will be about 16 1/2" x 12 1/2" x 3 1/2" - assembled as a closed box, with the lid later sawn apart about 1/3 of the way below the top. Lid and sides have central veneered panels of amboyna burl.  The lid will have several courses of borders of tulipwood crossbanding, separated by 1/16" inlaid brass strips, and the sides will have the same tulip crossbanding and brass strips above and below the central, wide amboyna strip.  Substrate is quartersawn Honduras mahogany, counterveneered with seagrass mahogany.

A couple questions - I plan to use hide glue - hot glue for the veneering, and Old Brown Glue for the joinery.  What should I use to glue my inlaid brass strips?  Will either of these be adequate?  I was told fish glue is the best for metal, shell, etc. but I don't know exactly why.  Please advise.