Piston Fit Drawers

kenta

This is my first post as I typically only read online forums. 

I am have been challenged by a woodworking teacher to make piston fit drawers in my period reproductions.  I have been using less than 1/16 clearance on each side of a large carcase drawer.  My recent instructor who does not make period furniture said this was sloppy.  He recommended a plain to fit for the drawer width as expansion will not change this diminsion.  Does anyone do this?

Kent

Kenta,  I'm an amateur and certainly not an expert on real period pieces but striving for piston fit drawers seems, to me, a waste of time. A well fitted drawer, sure. One that opens and closes easily, sure. A piston fit. Why? Less than 1/16" clearance on the sides is not "sloppy"  as long as the drawer works easily.

Your instructor reccommends a "plain to fit for the drawer width----."  I dont understand what you're saying.  John McAlister

Kent,

In my opinion a 1/16" clearance per side is a sloppy fit.  I shoot for 1/32" max.  Shrinking and expanding will not effect the width of the drawer just the height.  If a drawer fits too tight it will create a vacuum effect when opened and the opposite when closed.  My trade school instructor told us, "it is easier to take a little off than to add a little on."

Sloppy fitting drawers always remind me of the mass produced furniture.

Dennis Bork
Antiquity Period Designs, Ltd.

Kent,
There are a few tricks to making piston fit drawers, one is to make the rear of the drawer slightly narrower than the front . Make the drawer front fairly tight 1/16 overall or 1/32 per side and use a "plane" not "plain" to final fit down to those dimensions.
Mike

Sorry, a typo: Should read "plane to fit."