Opinions on finishing cherry

rchampagne

I'm working on a Chippendale style dressing table out and I'm making it of cherry.  I am planning on dyeing the piece, a coat of BLO, then a few coats of shellac.  I have used Lockwood's dyes in the past and have been happy with them. 

1.  Does anyone have a particular favorite dye for cherry (ie color)?
2.  Would you use ambler or clear shellac? 

I've made a number of pieces with cherry but haven't much experience dying it.  Any advise would be helpful. 
Thanks,
Rob

Rob,

If you're feeling a bit experimental, why not try the photo-oxidation process? Give it a UV suntan that David Keller describes in his article in the December 2008 APF. I've never done it but I have liked the way my purchased cherry sideboard mellowed after I placed it in a sunlit room. And rather quickly too, I might add.

Or, try potassium dichromate if you can get it. It has a nice darkening effect on cherry.

I have no experience with Lockwood dyes so I can't comment. I've used Jeff Jewitt's Transfast dyes. So far so good with them.

And, I like the deeper look amber shellac gives.

As in all things related to finishing, do a test piece or three first.

Rick Yochim 

Rob, Ricks advise here is sound, thank you Rick for sharing your exerience.

joseph Hemingway

I've been disappointed when dyeing cherry.  Not immediately, but a few years later when photo oxidation is added to the colour placed there with the dye.  I've found the piece becomes too dark after only a few years.

My practise now is to use BLO, followed by a couple of coats of amber shellac and then a final coat of 10 degree nitrocellulose lacquer for protection and to kill the shine of the shellac.

I prefer sun light. A bookcase I made has after 5 years developed a dark rich color, and it's in an area in the room where it doesn't get lots of light.