Large Library Shelves/Cabinets

Dan B

Greetings all:

I'm new to SAPFM so please forgive me if I'm asking something that has been answered hundreds of times or doesn't belong here.  I need to build a couple of large library wall units (bookcases and cabinets) each about 8 ft long and ceiling height.  Can someone point me to some materials (articles, drawings, photos, etc.) that would be helpful in building units true to late 18th/early 19th century design and construction.  I scanned Gotshall's books and the Chippendale Gentlemen's Directory and found nothing other than some ideas for molding, trim, carvings, etc.  Any ideas on building large units would be appreciated. 

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Dan B

There is an article in the Winter 2000 issue of Popular Woodworking magazine that discuses building wall book units and shows one of classic design. If you can't locate a copy of the magazine, I may be able to scan the article and e-mail it to you if you are interested.

Preston Earle
[email protected]
www.SawdustForBrains.blogspot.com

I think this book is a good resource for what you're talking about.

<a href="http://www.amazon.com/Design-Build-Great-18th-Century/dp/0764314238/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1290630773&sr=8-1"> Design and Built a Great 18th Century Room</a>

Tony Joyce

I've found built-in wall shelving or libraries to be rare in period houses, thus you don't see much of it in books.  Even Jefferson had some fairly cheap modular bookcases, no built-in library. 

A few general points on such things:  All construction would be of solid wood originally.  All shelves should be solid wood in a good modern effort.  Try to make the shelves an inch thick and to limit their length to less than about 3 feet.  The edges are greatly improved by a restrained moulding treatment.  Depending on how period it needs to be you'll have to answer whether the carcases will be made of plywood or solid wood, and price accordingly.