How to get started picking a style

agaboric

This is a very open ended question, I know but I really have found that I am taking a liking to the "older" furniture styles than say the newer stuff that is all the rage. For example I enjoy woodcarving, not great at it, but not horrible either and certian furniture styles have carvings on them that I know I can do, so that has peaked my intertest. So my question is where can I find an overall view of the different periods of furniture to better look and see what I may want to try? I am open to any all feed back, but any books or internet sites that I can pour thru or is there one specific period that it more ornate. I am totally new to this so again I have to claim total ignornace here.

A good comprehensive book is Wallace Nutting's "Furniture Treasury". Although first published almost a century ago, all styles are in there to look at.
Morrison Heckscher's " American Furniture at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Queen Anne and Chippendale" is a favorite of mine because it has great pictures.
Jerry Ward's "American Case Furniture" is good also.
There are of course lots of books on specific periods- Pilgrim, Rococo, Federal, etc.-Al

If you want to pick just one book, I'd suggest Jeffrey Greene's "American Furniture of the 18th Century".  It's a taunton book, and includes a lot of information of how period pieces were constructed and finished, as well as a catalogue of Jacobean, William and Mary, Queen Anne, Chippendale and Federal styles (essentially bridging the period between about 1650 and 1820). 

The catalogue sections include overall exploded construction drawings - it's not quite enough to be sufficient to reproduce the piece, but is enough information to draw plans yourself should you so desire.

It's a taunton book that's available just about everywhere.  If you want a signed copy, you can buy one directly from the author:

http://www.theballandclawonline.com/amfuof18ce.html