box construction questions

Chris J

I'm a new member of SAPFM. I'm also new to veneer, stringing and inlay and want to learn as I love Federal period furniture, I'm also on a very basic level as far as furniture building so forgive my questions.

I thought I would start with some simple boxes, something with straight lines so I could do some straight stringing, corner fans, maybe a center inlay. I found a sewing box similar to what I'm thinking. What would be the best construction method for the box itself if I plan to veneer the whole box? A solid glued top panel and mitered corners with splines? Also, if I DON'T plan on veneering the whole box, just stringing and corner fans.

I found pics of a "sewing box" that is very close to what I'd like to build and have posted some pics here:

http://chrisdjones.com/misc/sewing-box/

Thank you in advance.

Chris

Chris- There are many ways to engineer this box, but the only real problem is the top, since it's going to be expanding and contracting where the sides it's attached to aren't. You'll notice that the top of the one you show has been moving and buckling the banding.
The only practical way to stop this is to make the top out of plywood. This will solve the problem. Even if you do it the way they did and ignore the problem, and if you use quartersawn wood in the top, something stable like mahogany, the movement isn't that much and it will probably be fine for a few decades. It depends on your tolerance for things that aren't "perfect".......My advice is make two, one with a ply top and the other with a quartersawn mahogany top and see what happens. The one you show is still together, so that says something about how long it will last- it looks like that one's been around for about 190 years or so.