Boiled Linseed Oil Drying Time

P

pearle

My Christmas Candleboxes (http://www.sapfm.org/forum/index.php?topic=1534.0) are proceeding apace. I expect to start final finishing (top coat) next Monday. I'm making a Lonnierob Millardbird version (combining ideas from Rob Millard's and Lonnie Bird's versions): four each in cherry, mahogany, and walnut. The cherry ones I want to finish naturally with boiled linseed oil and a shellac or lacquer top coat. I've never used BLO on an actual project before, and a friend tells me he doesn't believe the BLO will dry adequately in the 5-6 days between now and the time I need to apply the top coat. Can anyone with experience with BLO weigh-in with an opinion? As an alternative, my friend suggests Minwax Wood Finish ("Penetrates, Stains, & Seals") which he believes will cure adequately in a day or two for top-coating. Any thoughts?

Preston Earle
www.SawdustForBrains.blogspot.com

Preston,

At a seminar by Bob Flexner he said that BLO will dry in a few days but it takes forever to cure.  I think the Minwax product is a much better choice.

Dennis Bork

I have used BLO under shellac for a long time on many projects. If you cut the oil 1/2 with either mineral spirits or turpentine, put it on, wipe it off, you can immediately pad on the shellac with out waiting for the oil to dry. The oil will act as a lubricant and dry and cure under the shellac with out a problem. I have done this for years, the only disadvantage I have seen is that the texture or pattern of the wood grain will telegraph through the finish slightly as the finish cures so if you want a high gloss finish you need to come back latter to get the high gloss. In the current issue of Fine Wood Working's finishing wood Jeff Jewitt outlines this method in an article on page 50 called "Done in a Day". I would think you can do all your boxes start to finish in less than an hour apiece.