Getting started with hide Glue

Justin D

Thats my question guys,  I want to start using hide glue.  I have no experience with it at all.  All I know about it is you need to heat it up and they have different blends for different strengths.

Do I need a glue pot, or can I use a hot plate with a pot on top?
Bush, Does it mater what kind?
Do I get different strength's, or can I just dilute it more more or less with water to change strength's?
Do I only have to rough up the surface for veneering? 

As you can see I really don't know much about, but everything I read and hear about hide glue paints a picture of a great product.  The only down fall is its messy.

Hi Justin,

Rather than reinvent the wheel, do an internet serach by going to Lee Valley Tools - Woodworking Newsletter, Vol. 4, Issue 6, July 2010. It pretty much sums up with answers to your questions on hide glue. You'll probably find other good info during your search. Also see the APF Journal, Vol. 2. Good article on hide glue by Pat Edwards. Hope this helps. By the way, all glues are messy!

Mickey

I use a hotplate with a pan of water on top, and a mason jar with the hide glue in it. I don't think I'd use a container of glue without the water jacket. Early glue pots were heavy cast iron affairs with water in them, and an interior pot holding the glue. The cast iron holds the heat nicely so you can move around with the pot.

You can also use liquid hide glue. No heat, no mixing, less mess. Pat Edwards makes the best of the liquid form. It won't do everything that hot hide glue will (rub joints, for instance), but it's close, and will give you a good start.

Justin,